The short answer

World of Warcraft: Forever adds nine new dungeons spread across levels 13 to 60.

Three raids unlock on December 9: Barrow Deeps for 10 players, Hyjal Summit for 20 players and Onyxia’s Lair for 40 players.

Dungeons and raids each have a single difficulty, with no Heroic mode.

Blizzard has reworked dungeon loot, while the official announcements reviewed for this guide do not state dungeon experience values.

We checked every fact against Blizzard’s own U.S. English, German and Korean pages on September 24, 2026, and note where regions differ.

Nine new dungeons by level range

Community manager Kaivax posted the level list for all nine new dungeons on Blizzard’s forums on September 15, 2026 (UTC).

The post corrected one BlizzCon detail: Krol’dok Stronghold is for levels 40–45, not the range shown in some BlizzCon material.

DungeonLevelsWhat Blizzard says
The Hall of Thanes13–18Beneath Ironforge
Ruins of Lordaeron15–20The Forsaken reclaim their capital
Excavation Site: Wetlands24–29Mysterious dig above Whelgar’s Excavation
City of Dalaran28–33Strange magical trouble
The Drowned City35–40Naga and pirates
Krol’dok Strongholdcorrected on September 1540–45Level range corrected by Blizzard
Alcaz Prison48–53No story detail yet
Blackmaw Hold55–60Corruption in its depths
Shaper’s Terrace58–60No story detail yet

Levels from Kaivax’s forum post of September 15, 2026; descriptions from Blizzard’s What’s Next recap.

The Hall of Thanes lies beneath Ironforge and covers levels 13–18.

Ruins of Lordaeron, where you help the Forsaken reclaim their old capital, covers levels 15–20.

Both dungeons now have their own guide on this site, linked at the end of this section.

Excavation Site: Wetlands, described by Blizzard as a mysterious dig above Whelgar’s Excavation, covers levels 24–29.

City of Dalaran, with its strange magical trouble, covers levels 28–33.

The Drowned City, with naga and pirates, covers levels 35–40.

Alcaz Prison covers levels 48–53.

Blackmaw Hold, with corruption stirring in its depths, covers levels 55–60.

Shaper’s Terrace covers levels 58–60.

Several ranges overlap, such as 13–18 with 15–20 and 55–60 with 58–60, so two dungeons can suit the same character level.

Level range of each new dungeon

Hall of Thanes 13–18Hall of Thanes: 13–18Ruins of Lordaeron 15–20Ruins of Lordaeron: 15–20Excavation Site 24–29Excavation Site: 24–29City of Dalaran 28–33City of Dalaran: 28–33The Drowned City 35–40The Drowned City: 35–40Krol’dok Stronghold 40–45Krol’dok Stronghold: 40–45Alcaz Prison 48–53Alcaz Prison: 48–53Blackmaw Hold 55–60Blackmaw Hold: 55–60Shaper’s Terrace 58–60Shaper’s Terrace: 58–60102030405060Level
Same ranges as the table above (Kaivax, September 15, 2026).
Official World of Warcraft: Forever screenshot of a dark stone hall with carved pillars and statues, a blue-lit platform in front and a red-carpeted staircase at the far end.
Screenshot from the dungeons part of Blizzard’s What’s Next recap; Blizzard does not name the location.Image: © Blizzard Entertainment · Source

What the beta lets you test now

The beta began on September 17, 2026 with a level cap of 20, which Blizzard plans to raise to 30 later in the test.

Two new dungeons were part of the first beta phase: Hall of Thanes for levels 13–18 and Ruins of Lordaeron for levels 15–20.

Blizzard says more zones, dungeons and the new battleground will open as the beta continues, without a dungeon-by-dungeon schedule.

Raids: Barrow Deeps, Hyjal Summit and Onyxia’s Lair

Blizzard’s 2026–2027 roadmap lists three raids under “Raids unlock” on December 9: Barrow Deeps for 10 players, Hyjal Summit for 20 players and Onyxia’s Lair for 40 players.

The U.S. English recap also says new raids unlock on December 9; neither that recap nor the roadmap states an unlock time.

Barrow Deeps is planned as a maximum-level 10-player challenge, while Hyjal Summit brings 20-player raid encounters.

Blizzard says these two raids bring new tier sets and a legendary reward that has not been fully revealed yet.

Official World of Warcraft: Forever screenshot of a dark cavern with hanging rock spires above a glowing blue pool and small figures on its edge.
Screenshot shown with the raid paragraph of Blizzard’s What’s Next recap; Blizzard does not name the location.Image: © Blizzard Entertainment · Source

The Legacy System announcement lists 13 bosses for Hyjal Summit and 8 for Barrow Deeps, but does not list a boss count for Onyxia’s Lair.

RaidPlayersBossesUnlock
Barrow Deeps108December 9
Hyjal Summit2013December 9
Onyxia’s Lair40Not stated in Legacy announcementDecember 9

Players and date from Blizzard’s roadmap; boss counts from the Legacy System announcement. The recap and roadmap do not state an unlock time.

In the developer Q&A of September 17, 2026, the team said every raid tier will have both a 10-player and a 20-player raid.

The developers added that there will not be a 40-player raid every tier; Onyxia’s Lair is an extra 40-player raid on top of the 10- and 20-player raids.

They also said raids will not start with flexible group sizes, and there is no cross-faction play.

You can only group with players on the same ruleset, and Horde and Alliance still cannot group together.

One difficulty for every dungeon and raid

Forever uses a single difficulty for every dungeon and raid.

In the developer Q&A of September 17, 2026, the team said there is no Heroic difficulty for either.

There is one version of the 10-player raid and one version of the 20-player raid, and dungeons work the same way.

Armor seen in several color variations is, according to the developers, only for offset pieces, not a sign of harder modes.

The Q&A is a live video on Blizzard’s official World of Warcraft YouTube channel; the passage starts at 1:27:08.

Dungeon loot and appearances

Blizzard’s Deep Dive recap says every dungeon drop has been re-examined and hundreds of new drops have been added.

Unique dungeon boss items are now blue, Rare quality, and set bonuses have been improved.

When a bind-on-pickup Uncommon or Rare item drops in a dungeon, its appearance goes to every eligible looter once someone loots it.

Players who need the item as an upgrade therefore do not have to roll against someone who only wants the look.

Epic raid drops are different: their appearance goes only to the player the item binds to.

ChangeWhat it means for you
Unique dungeon boss itemsNow Rare (blue) quality
All dungeon dropsRe-examined, hundreds of new drops added
Bind-on-pickup Uncommon or Rare dungeon dropAppearance for every eligible looter
Epic raid dropAppearance only for the player it binds to
Blueprint recipesEarned from specific dungeon bosses

From Blizzard’s Deep Dive panel recap.

Advanced Blueprint recipes for higher-tier camping objects are earned from specific dungeon bosses.

Dungeon combat is meant to stay tactical: crowd control such as Polymorph, Banish, Fear and Root still matters, and damage dealers need to watch threat.

Dungeon and raid Legacy challenges

The account-wide Legacy System gives three Legacy Points for dungeons and three for raids.

Dungeon points come from defeating the final boss of every dungeon in the level 15–25, 26–45 and 46–60 brackets.

Raid points come from defeating Onyxia, all 13 Hyjal Summit bosses and all 8 Barrow Deeps bosses.

The Legacy System announcement does not list which dungeons belong to each bracket, so we do not assign the nine new dungeons to them.

Dungeon experience: not stated in the reviewed announcements

The official announcement pages reviewed for this guide do not state dungeon experience values.

Because the beta announcement provides no dungeon experience figures, this guide does not estimate them from player reports.

After December: roadmap and open questions

Blizzard’s roadmap places the Hardcore launch in winter, after the December 9 raid unlock.

The spring major update lists 2 new raids, for 10 and 20 players, and 2 new dungeons.

It also lists new quests and a playable area, a new legendary questline and a PvP season refresh.

The summer major update lists a revamped iconic raid, a new raid, expanded world content and 2 more new dungeons.

SeasonDungeons and raids on the roadmap
Winter
  • Raids unlock December 9
  • Hardcore launch
Spring
  • 2 new raids (10 and 20 players)
  • 2 new dungeons
Summer
  • Revamped iconic raid
  • New raid
  • 2 new dungeons

Blizzard’s 2026–2027 roadmap image. Content and timing subject to change.

The roadmap gives no dates after December 9 and says content and timing are subject to change.

The official materials reviewed on September 24, 2026 do not state raid unlock times, dungeon group sizes, full details of the legendary reward or dungeon experience values.

Change log of official information

Dates in this section are in UTC.

Date (UTC)What changed
Sep 12Nine dungeons named; raids unlock December 9 (10, 20, 40 players)
Sep 13Dungeon loot rework and shared appearances
Sep 15Level list; Krol’dok Stronghold corrected to 40–45
Sep 17Beta opens with 2 dungeons; single difficulty confirmed
Sep 23Boss counts: Hyjal Summit 13, Barrow Deeps 8
Sep 24Reviewed announcements state no dungeon experience values

Official announcements only. We will add a row when Blizzard changes or adds dungeon or raid facts.

September 12: Blizzard’s What’s Next recap named the nine new dungeons, Barrow Deeps for 10 players and Hyjal Summit for 20, and a December 9 raid unlock; its roadmap added Onyxia’s Lair for 40.

September 13: the Deep Dive recap described the dungeon loot rework and shared dungeon appearances.

September 15: Kaivax posted the full level list and corrected Krol’dok Stronghold to levels 40–45.

September 17: the beta opened with Hall of Thanes and Ruins of Lordaeron, and the developer Q&A confirmed a single difficulty.

September 23: the Legacy System announcement gave boss counts of 13 for Hyjal Summit and 8 for Barrow Deeps.

September 24: this review found no dungeon experience values in the official announcements listed below.